The New Zealand energy company now operates 570 public charging points and plans to add another 36 across the North Island in the coming months.
Meridian Energy has reported a 30% increase in active users of its public EV charging network over the past six months, as electric vehicle adoption and public charging activity continue to grow in New Zealand.
Meridian defines active users as drivers who charge on its network at least once a week on average.
The company’s public network has expanded to 570 EV charging points, comprising 335 in the South Island and 235 in the North Island.
Over the past 12 months, Meridian says the amount of electricity delivered through its public charging network more than doubled compared with the previous 12-month period. The company did not disclose the total amount of electricity delivered or the number of charging sessions completed.
“What’s clear is that EVs are becoming a mainstream choice for Kiwis,” said Lisa Hannifin, Chief Customer Officer at Meridian.
“The growth isn’t just in vehicle sales, it’s in the number of people regularly using public EV chargers as part of everyday life.”
Meridian’s public network reaches 570 charging points
Meridian currently operates 335 public charging points in the South Island and 235 in the North Island.
The total of 570 refers to individual charging points rather than necessarily 570 separate charging locations. Meridian’s announcement does not provide the number of sites covered by the network or a breakdown by charger power.
The company has focused on improving its South Island charging network over the past two years. Its next phase will place greater emphasis on expanding charging coverage and capacity across the North Island.
The reported 30% increase concerns drivers who charge on Meridian’s network at least once a week on average. It should not be interpreted as a 30% increase in all registered users, charging sessions or electricity delivered.
Meridian plans 36 additional North Island charging points
Meridian plans to bring 36 additional North Island charging points online over the next few months.
The expansion will include ultra-rapid charging equipment in:
- Hawke’s Bay
- Rotorua
- Bay of Plenty
- Palmerston North
- Warkworth
- Hamilton
The announcement does not provide precise site locations, opening dates, charger manufacturers or maximum power ratings.
It also does not specify how many of the 36 planned points will provide ultra-rapid charging or how the equipment will be distributed across the six named areas.
The additional points will expand Meridian’s existing 570-point public network, although the company has not provided a final network total for the end of the rollout.
Ultra-rapid chargers can reduce charging times for compatible vehicles and support longer-distance travel. Actual charging performance will depend on the equipment’s maximum output, the vehicle’s charging capability, battery temperature, state of charge and whether available power is shared between multiple connectors.
Electricity delivered through the network more than doubles
Meridian says the amount of electricity delivered through its public EV charging network during the past 12 months more than doubled compared with the previous year.
This result measures energy supplied through the network rather than growth in customers or charging sessions.
Higher electricity delivery could result from several factors, including:
- More drivers using the network
- Existing customers charging more frequently
- Larger energy transfers during individual sessions
- Additional charging points
- Increased use of higher-power charging equipment
Meridian has not disclosed enough information to determine how much each factor contributed to the increase.
The result is therefore best understood as evidence of rising use of Meridian’s public charging infrastructure rather than a direct measure of customer or session growth.
EV and PHEV sales reach 23.7%
Meridian cited figures from EVDB New Zealand showing that battery-electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles represented a combined 23.7% of new vehicle sales between January and September 2026.
Meridian’s release says the proportion of battery-electric vehicles sold increased by 166.9% year over year, while the proportion of plug-in hybrids sold rose by 111.6%.
The announcement does not provide the underlying vehicle totals or explain the calculation used for those percentage increases.
The 23.7% figure concerns new vehicle sales during the nine-month period. It should not be interpreted as the proportion of all vehicles currently operating on New Zealand roads.
The figures nevertheless indicate that plug-in vehicles are taking a larger share of new vehicle purchases, creating continued demand for public charging infrastructure.
Meridian links household energy with EV charging
Meridian is positioning electric driving as part of a wider household-energy relationship rather than treating public charging as a standalone service.
“Driving an EV isn’t just a cleaner choice, it can be a smart financial choice too,” Hannifin said.
“Using electricity to power both your home and your car creates a real opportunity to reduce your total energy costs.”
Actual household savings will vary according to electricity prices, vehicle efficiency, annual distance travelled, charging location and the comparative cost of petrol or diesel.
Meridian says its goal is to make charging more convenient and give more New Zealand drivers confidence to switch to electric vehicles.
“We want to make it as easy as possible for more Kiwis to take advantage of that,” Hannifin said.
“We’re on a mission to deliver New Zealand’s largest and most-loved EV network, and it’s encouraging to see just how many Kiwi EV drivers are already tapping into that network and enjoying electric transport.”
The next stated milestone is the installation of the 36 new North Island charging points. Meridian has not provided a final completion date beyond saying the equipment will come online over the next few months.
FAQ: Meridian EV Charging Network
How much has Meridian’s active EV charging user base grown?
Meridian reports a 30% increase in active users over the past six months.
The company defines active users as drivers who charge on its network at least once a week on average.
How many public charging points does Meridian operate?
Meridian says its network currently includes 570 public EV charging points.
Of those, 335 are in the South Island and 235 are in the North Island.
How many new charging points is Meridian planning?
Meridian plans to bring 36 additional North Island charging points online over the next few months.
The expansion will include ultra-rapid chargers in Hawke’s Bay, Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, Palmerston North, Warkworth and Hamilton.
Has Meridian disclosed the power of the upcoming chargers?
No. Meridian says the expansion will include ultra-rapid charging equipment but has not disclosed maximum outputs, connector configurations or precise site locations.
How much electricity is Meridian’s charging network delivering?
Meridian says electricity delivered through its public EV network during the latest 12-month period more than doubled compared with the previous year.
The company has not disclosed the total number of kilowatt-hours or charging sessions.
What share of New Zealand vehicle sales are plug-in vehicles?
Figures cited by Meridian indicate that battery-electric and plug-in hybrid vehicles represented a combined 23.7% of new vehicle sales from January through September 2026.
This concerns new vehicle sales during that period, not the proportion of all vehicles currently on New Zealand roads.
Where will Meridian install the new North Island chargers?
Meridian has named Hawke’s Bay, Rotorua, Bay of Plenty, Palmerston North, Warkworth and Hamilton. Exact addresses and opening dates have not been announced.
